Fashionable Friday Feature: Chrissy

Tell me a little bit about yourself.

Hi I’m Chrissy! I’m 26 years old and I’m from Newark, NJ. I am a proud mother of the smartest, most beautiful 4 year old in the world! My purpose in this life is to be the best me that I can be and inspire others to do the same.


How would you describe your style? I would describe my style as fun and versatile. I like to be comfortable yet chic. I don’t think you have to compromise either. I love bright colors, loud prints, and a good heel!


How do you decide what to wear in the morning? I have an EXTREMELY busy schedule. Morning time is always a hustle and bustle for me, so most mornings, I pick a piece that is easily accessible and appropriate for work. It’s actually a fun process. My mother has been telling me to pick out my clothes the night before since I was a child. There’s something about the pressure of having to be dressed and out the door by a certain time that excites me. You end up with some pretty interesting outfits. Most times they WERK and other times I WERK them, lol. I have a lot of statement blazers and printed skirts so that also makes it really easy for me to mix and match and head out of the door.  When all else fails, a bold lip will always save the day!


What are your favorite wardrobe pieces? I absolutely love hats and scarves. In terms of style, I think they have a way of speaking directly to who you are. Anyone can wear a hat but they can’t wear it exactly like you would. The same goes for scarves. There are millions of ways you can wear a scarf. I think that accessories allow you to be as creative as you want. They have the power to turn an otherwise boring outfit into something interesting, and more importantly, unmistakably you.

Where do you typically shop for clothes and accessories? I shop ANY and EVERY where from Nasty Gal to thrift stores…I’ve even bought a hat from a car wash because I thought it was cute. I’m not very big on name brands at all. Not only because I’m not at the point in my life where I can afford to buy a Chanel bag for everyday of the week, but also because I find a thrill in making something I paid almost nothing for look like I just fell out of a magazine.

Let’s talk hair. How long have you been natural? What is your normal regimen? I’ve been natural for about 6 years now. I don’t have a regular regimen so to speak, meaning, I don’t necessarily stick to any kind of schedule. I pay attention to my hair and care for it that way. I co-wash about once a week and I moisturize with coconut oil and Jamaican black castor oil once I get out of the shower and add a small coin size of Kinky Curly’s Curl Custard. I let it air dry and go. Unless I’m wearing a protective style  I am a wash and go girl all the way.


Do you have a signature hairstyle? I shaved my head about a year ago and since then I have experimented so much. I’ve changed so much that I don’t think I have a signature style. Right now, my tapered cut is taking over. This style is the one I have felt the most comfortable in so maybe this will become my signature.


How does your natural hair work with your style? My hair works with my style because it gives every outfit that extra bit of edge. It’s edgy yet chic. My cut and color makes my outfits pop more than ever before. There is something about short hair that adds that confidence factor to every look.


Are you working on any ventures that we should know about? I’ve just started my weekly video diary on Youtube. I will be talking about every day life, the ups and downs, and everything in between. There are so many things that I want to accomplish and I want to share as much of that journey as possible so that people can see firsthand that it CAN be done!

How can we stay connected with you? You can stay connected with me daily via IG: @ChrisMiss_ Twitter: @ChrisMiss_ and on my YouTube Channel where I post every Sunday


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge